ALL That Is Within Me

ALL that is within me...~Psalm 103:1

ALL that is within me…~Psalm 103:1

Today, I was reading a post from a blog I follow (iChristian) where Steve Rebus asked what the phrase, “I am loved” means to us. Out of the provided list, I chose the first one:

“The whole of me my body, mind heart and soul, that is my strength, my thoughts my deepest longings and all my emotions are loved by God.”

others included:

• God knows me AND loves me (not God knows me but loves me)
• I am loved for who I am. Completely, Utterly, For Ever.
• Others may dislike me, but God loves me
• I may hate myself, but God continues to love me
• He loves me for what I am and what I will be.
• He loves me because he understands me.

The first one stood out for me because I remember being so angry with God for not answering my prayers in the way I wanted Him to, for not being the God I wanted Him to be. My anger propelled me into a space of absolute honesty and kicked open the door for true intimacy with God. I came to a sudden realization that God could handle all of me, all of my emotions, all of my joy, all of my pain, all of my desires and disappointments, all of me. I’d determined I wanted to bless the Lord with ALL that was within me, as the psalmist says in chapter 103. Even when I was feeling empty, I felt God calling me to bring my emptiness to Him. Some days, all that was within me was anger, some days – just streams of endless tears. But the bible says, “all that is within me, bless His holy name.” So, I believed that even my honest anger would bless the Lord, that even my endless tears would glorify His name because that was all that was within me. That was all that I had!

God does an amazing thing when we allow Him to have ALL of us, when we choose to bring ALL of ourselves to Him to bless His holy name. He meets us there, there in the brokenness, there in the pain, there in the anger. God can handle all of you, and He wants you to bring your all to Him so that ALL that is within you can bless His holy name.

“Keep your wants, your joys, your sorrows, your cares, and your fears before God. . . There is no chapter in our experience too dark for Him to read; there is no perplexity too difficult for Him to unravel. No calamity can befall the least of His children, no anxiety harass the soul, no joy cheer, no sincere prayer escape the lips, of which our heavenly Father is unobservant, or in which He takes no immediate interest.”

 ~E.G.W., Steps to Christ, p. 100

19 responses to “ALL That Is Within Me

  1. You are so right. We forget sometimes how big and amazing and powerful God is. We put human attributes on Him, which puts Him in a box. He can take our anger, grief, confusion and joy and turn it all into wonderful ways to glorify Him and build His kingdom. He wants us to be authentic with Him – how else can we grow in our relationship with Him, our beloved Father?

  2. Your words here really blessed me, and the timing…how I came to read them also blessed me.

    I think I will share the rest at the “Woman of Prayer” page.

    If you have time I would love it if you could read a post of mine that I wrote back in 2010, but was lead to re-blog a few days ago titled “Tangled Chains”.

Share your thoughts...

